RSS

Cook’n Recipe Organizing Software Giveaway!

01 Apr

Cook’n is a wonderful all in one recipe software.  There are so many features to this software that you will never need another!

500 recipes already installed
Super easy to add your own recipes and personalize
Capture internet recipes in seconds (which means that you can import any recipe you find online!)
Auto fill for quick entries
Change serving amounts in a heartbeat
Counts calories
Nutritional facts
Makes grocery list
Tons of pre loaded cookbooks or make your own, and print it out with its own table of contents.
Plus one free cookbook download with purchase
Menu planning. Yay! With grocery list!
Easy step by step instructional video
Customize categories to make it work for you

After installing the software, which went off without a hitch, it took almost no time to figure out how to use it.  I took about five minutes to watch the introductory video, and it went a long way in explaining the basics.

While I’m loving the software, I was worried about spending a lot of time inputting my own stuff only to have a computer crash and lose it all.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve lost everything when either my computer died, or one of the kids downloaded a virus and the hard drive needed to be wiped, so this was a pretty big consideration for me.  I sent a question in to DVO and got an immediate response with instructions for a 2 click back up, it seriously could not be any easier!

I added my new Sweet & Salty stir fry recipe, and it took less than two minutes.  Almost everything was auto filled as I typed, and I just had to copy and paste the instructions.  Not only that but you get a nutritional break down for your recipes too.  It gives you the calories and breakdown for the entire recipe and you just divide to get your serving amounts.  Because it is a new recipe to the program those nutritional values might not be perfect, but it gives you a pretty good idea.  You can also use that nutritional guide to make your meals healthier by substituting or omitting certain high calorie or high fat items.

While adding my recipe I came across a small problem.  The coconut oil was not one of the pre-loaded ingredients.  It took less than a second to add but I was not able to edit it to include the nutritional information.  I talked to Brent over at DVO, and was told that while the capability is not there right now, they are aware of it and diligently working to add it.  As soon as they have the fix it will be automatically downloaded to your software!   I can’t ask for much more than that.  Also in the works is Cook’n mobile, this will allow me to sync all of my recipes with my ipad and make it easier to use in the kitchen, or take your shopping list with you to the grocery store, can’t wait!

With the huge number of recipes to choose from the search feature is a blessing.  You can look for a single ingredient to find a recipe to help with dinner planning, or so many other options that you’ll never have any trouble with the ‘What’s for Dinner?” question again.

The only real glitchy part I found that is a bit disappointing is the accuracy of the nutritional information.  When I first tried the info for my self inputted recipe it was only about 80% complete.  I figured that was because it was not a recipe that came with the program.  Unfortunately though, it seems that even with the pre-loaded recipes that information is far from complete.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m glad the feature is there but I wish it was a little more rounded.  Now having said that I am sure DVO is well aware and working to update, which will in turn automatically be updated to my software.

Win it!  DVO has graciously offered one of our followers a copy of Cook’n, that is an $80 value!  I know you will love it as much as I do.  This giveaway is open internationally.

To enter the giveaway please go to this link on Facebook – Cook’n Rafflecopter Giveaway  In order to provide you with the convenience of rafflecopter entries we must install the widget on facebook, as wordpress free blogs do not have the capabilities.  I would however appreciate if you could bookmark this page to do your daily entries.

Disclaimer: DVO Software provided me with a free sample of this product to review, and I was under no obligation to review it if I so chose. Nor was I under any obligation to write a positive review or sponsor a product giveaway in return for the free product.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on April 1, 2012 in Giveaways, Recipes

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Cook’n Recipe Organizing Software Giveaway!

  1. thomas rusinak

    April 1, 2012 at 12:11 pm

    adventures in cooking is as good as any adventure!

     
  2. diane

    April 1, 2012 at 3:06 pm

    I like all the different things it can do.

     
  3. krystle smith

    April 2, 2012 at 9:17 am

    I liked that you can sync it with your android device

     
  4. Leah

    April 2, 2012 at 9:22 am

    I love that you can print your own family cookbook

     
  5. junkfoodnomore

    April 2, 2012 at 8:20 pm

    I love the fact that you can Enter Your Own Personal Recipes 🙂

     
  6. junkfoodnomore

    April 2, 2012 at 8:20 pm

    I love that you can Enter Your Own Personal Recipes

     
  7. Greta Bomberry

    April 3, 2012 at 4:45 pm

    Would really be able to make use of this

     
  8. clenna1

    April 5, 2012 at 6:55 pm

    I like that it will keep my recipes ORGANIZED!

     
  9. julie g

    April 16, 2012 at 11:13 am

    I like how you can print a family favourites cookbook.

     

Leave a Reply

 
