RSS

Tropical Traditions Coconut Oil Giveaway!

31 Mar

When I first got word that I would be receiving a quart of coconut oil, I thought, now what the heck am I going to do with that?  Weirdly enough, a couple of days later while I was doing a nutritional consult with my trainer he spent ten minutes telling me how great this stuff is.  It was at that point that I mentioned I would be getting some of it to try.  Now I’m not allowed to say that this stuff is amazingly good for you, so I won’t, but I will say that it leaves vegetable oil in the dirt and you should too.  Leave the veggies in the dirt that is, at least as far as oil is concerned.

I decided to try the oil on my most love/hate recipe to see how it would go.  This is going to sound crazy but despite the fact that it’s a super healthy meal, I don’t make stir fry’s often.  I’ve tried using a dozen different packaged sauces, or just plain soy, and I just can’t find a flavour that I like.  Funny enough, a plain stir fry just tastes too ‘earthy’ for me, and the packaged stuff doesn’t do much to cover that unpleasantness.  This however I loved and will make over and over again.  The coconut oil really made the difference.

When I first received the oil it was solidified, it’s pretty cold here in Calgary, even on a good day, so that is normal.  I just followed the directions to bring it back to a liquid, it took no time and very little effort.

Here are some Coconut Oil facts that may interest you:

Learn about Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil
Tropical Traditions Video
How to use Coconut Oil
What is virgin coconut oil?
Popular coconut oil recipes

And our recipe that you might want to try, it was beyond yummy!

Sweet & Salty Coconut Oil Stir Fry

Makes aprox 4 servings, can be stretched with more rice.

2 boneless skinless chicken breast(optional)
1 ½ cups rice – 3 cups cooked
1 head of broccoli  cut into florets
¼ head of cauliflower cut into florets
1 red pepper cut into bit sized pieces
1 medium sized onion
4 medium sized carrots cut julienne
2 TBLS coconut oil
1-2 TBLS Reduced sodium soy sauce (to taste)

DIRECTIONS:

After the chicken is defrosted, cut into bite sized pieces.  I used about a tablespoon of coconut oil to sauté until fully cooked.  Once chicken is cooked, set aside.  Add the other tablespoon of coconut oil and sauté veggies starting with the harder to cook like cauliflower, and adding the lighter stuff as you go.  Sauté veg until warm but still crisp.  Once veggies are cooked to your liking re-add chicken and then add soy sauce.  I also add a touch of soy sauce to the rice.  Serve stir fry over hot rice.

While I don’t find coconut oil actually tastes of coconut but the oil gives a wonderfully sweet, yet mild, taste to add to the salty flavour of the soy sauce.  It makes a blah stir fry into a fabulous and healthy meal for the family.  My hubby doesn’t like the taste of coconut so I didn’t tell him what was in it, he loved it 😉

TIPS:

I am not an advance planner, which anyone will know if they’ve been paying the least amount of attention to my posts. My dinners each and every night are decided on generally at the very last minute. We do not have a microwave, and even when we did I hated defrosting stuff that way. My solution to this, at least for chicken breast that I need to cut up is to put them in the skillet with a lid and leave them on the minimum heat for about 10-15 minutes. Works like a charm to defrost those babies.

Another thing I do that might help you save time, is instead of spending 15 minutes cutting up carrots into tiny pieces, get yourself a good peeler. Peel the tough outer layer off the carrots then over a bowl ‘peel’ the rest of the carrot in short even strokes. You will end up with pieces not quite as uniform and pretty but they are roughly the same size, and cook just as quick. The middle core that you can’t quite shred gets saved for a snack the next day.

I’ve also been using the coconut oil as a replacement for any margarine I would normally use.  It’s funny how chemistry can alter the flavour of a dish, but it does!  I used it last night to cook some eggs, and with a touch of salt it tasted more buttery than if I’d used actual butter, I’m not kidding!  I also used it in a quick sauté for a side dish of broccoli and carrots, and once again it added flavour to what would normally be pretty blah.  I will say that I’m not a fan of how it smells while you’re actually cooking with it, but thankfully the results are so much tastier than the smell.  I’m not one who’s big on trying new things when it comes to food, but I’m so glad I gave Tropical Traditions Coconut oil a try, because slowly but surely I’m getting hooked on this stuff.

Win it!  Tropical Traditions has been kind enough to offer one of our readers 1 quart of Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil!  That is a value of $40!

To enter the giveaway please go to this link on Facebook – Tropical Traditions Rafflecopter Giveaway  In order to provide you with the convenience of rafflecopter entries we must install the widget on facebook, as wordpress free blogs do not have the capabilities.  I would however appreciate if you could bookmark this page to do your daily entries.

If you are interested in ordering from Tropical Traditions please use this link – Tropical Traditions.  I will receive credit for referring you, and you will receive a free cookbook!  They have much more than just coconut oil there, it is all certified organic, and a great place for ingredients if you are going gluten free.

Disclaimer: Tropical Traditions provided me with a free sample of this product to review, and I was under no obligation to review it if I so chose. Nor was I under any obligation to write a positive review or sponsor a product giveaway in return for the free product.

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

46 responses to “Tropical Traditions Coconut Oil Giveaway!

  1. Kitty C

    March 31, 2012 at 7:31 pm

    I love Coconut Oil from cooking to using it on my skin. I have never tried the Tropical Traditions brand so thanks for the chance to win.
    And I love reading your blog Natoma. I can find nothing to improve on.

     
  2. nancy

    April 1, 2012 at 7:00 am

    I have never tried using coconut for cooking, but I think it would has very good.

     
  3. Maggie

    April 1, 2012 at 7:58 am

    I’m a huge fan of coconut everything – especially coconut water … however, never tried for cooking except for dessert in Asian culture … would love to give the oil a try!

     
  4. dian a

    April 1, 2012 at 10:10 am

    Love coconut oil for cooking. I’ve been using it off and on for a few years

     
  5. Juliette

    April 1, 2012 at 11:11 am

    I have super dry skin and the Canadian winter’s play havoc – I would use the coconut oil for my skin.

     
  6. Judy Ham

    April 1, 2012 at 11:23 am

    I love coconut oil! I actually eat a small spoonful of it when I crave something fatty, although I do that w/ peanut butter too. It’s yummy. I also use it in my homemade moisturizers. My skin loves this stuff. I add a couple of drops of ylang ylang and it smells divine! I never tried this brand but it sounds great! I personally love to use grapeseed oil in the majority of my cooking due to it’s neutral flavor but making stir fry with it sounds interesting. I normally use it for making thai dishes.

    Also, fyi on the stir fry flavors. You need to add a lot of ingredients to make it taste authentic. Garlic, ginger, red pepper paste such as sambal olec or chili garlic paste, sesame oil, rice wine, and oyster sauce. These are the key ingredients you need to make it authentic and super yummy!

     
    • Adventures in Miscellany

      April 5, 2012 at 7:55 am

      I keep hearing that it’s great for your skin too! I’m not sure I want to waste it on skin care though, it tastes too good 😉 Although, with all of the tanning I’ve been subjecting myself to for vacation, maybe I should.

      Thanks for the stir fry tips! I should honestly no better, but it seems nothing I’ve ever tried has covered that earthy flavour. I’ll give your suggestions a try.

       
  7. flycastin

    April 1, 2012 at 11:26 am

    I would love to try the skin exfoliators – the ones in the store are always full of chemicals
    Serena D

     
  8. Dianne Arsenault

    April 1, 2012 at 11:35 am

    I’d love to try the Organic Virgin Coconut Oil Lip Moisturizer.

     
  9. thomas rusinak

    April 1, 2012 at 12:10 pm

    great variety of oil products…would like to try them all

     
  10. Clvn H

    April 1, 2012 at 12:55 pm

    would like to try the Organic Unrefined Sesame Oil

     
  11. diane

    April 1, 2012 at 3:10 pm

    I’d love using Coconut Oil and would love to try the Organic Virgin Coconut Oil Lip Moisturizer.

     
  12. Sarah.

    April 1, 2012 at 3:12 pm

    I’d love to try the Organic Rolled Oats and the Shredded Coconut.

    Thanks for the giveaway!

     
  13. evette smith

    April 1, 2012 at 5:39 pm

    just picked up some coconut oil from a market in the dominican republic. I use it on my skin, a wonderful moisturizer!

     
  14. Leah

    April 2, 2012 at 9:21 am

    I’d love to try the Organic Brown Rice Syrup

     
  15. junkfoodnomore

    April 2, 2012 at 8:42 pm

    Would love to try the all purpose cleaner

     
  16. Greta Bomberry

    April 3, 2012 at 4:47 pm

    My whole family is using coconut oil and loving it

     
  17. Emily N.

    April 3, 2012 at 8:16 pm

    I’d like to try their Grass-fed Ground Beef

     
  18. Maureen Zapshalla

    April 3, 2012 at 9:38 pm

    Heard about this product and its benefits on Dr. Oz. Have never used it but am interested in trying it. Thanks for the opportunity to enter to win.

     
  19. Donna

    April 4, 2012 at 1:13 pm

    I’d like to try their Expeller-Pressed coconut oil

     
  20. clenna1

    April 5, 2012 at 6:50 pm

    I love the Expeller-Pressed Coconut Oil

     
  21. Mariana

    April 6, 2012 at 8:38 am

    GREAT PRODUCT,THANK YOU!

     
  22. Kristen

    April 7, 2012 at 6:44 am

    I’d like to try the coconut peanut butter.

     
  23. Mariana

    April 8, 2012 at 8:46 am

    WONDERFUL PRODUCT,THANK YOU!

     
  24. Brent Nasworthy

    April 8, 2012 at 4:01 pm

    I’d love to try some grass-fed meat from TT 🙂

     
  25. Jayme

    April 8, 2012 at 6:54 pm

    I would love to try their coconut oil for hair

     
  26. Rust

    April 9, 2012 at 12:40 pm

    I would like to try TT’s Oxygen Bleach.

     
  27. Rexella

    April 10, 2012 at 12:12 pm

    Love that I found your website. Can’t wait to try some of the products.

     
  28. Beth

    April 12, 2012 at 9:10 am

    I would like to try TT’s Coconut Cream Concentrate
    rollerbeth at gmail dot com

     
  29. Gina M Maddox

    April 12, 2012 at 7:49 pm

    I would love to try the rolled oats! Thanks for the chance to win!
    gina.m.maddox (AT) gmail (DOT) com

     
  30. Star Scot

    April 14, 2012 at 12:00 pm

    I’d like to try the dish liquid and coconut oil soap.

     
  31. Mariana

    April 15, 2012 at 8:27 am

    GREAT PRODUCT! I LOVE IT! THANK YOU!

     
  32. julie g

    April 15, 2012 at 10:43 pm

    I’d like to try the organic golden flaxseed.

     
  33. tribexica

    April 16, 2012 at 10:43 pm

    I want to try their coconut flour.

     
  34. Becky

    April 16, 2012 at 10:44 pm

    I want to try their coconut flour.

     
  35. Tamira Graham

    April 17, 2012 at 5:24 pm

    I’d like to try their Expeller-Pressed coconut oil

     
  36. Allyce Smith

    April 17, 2012 at 8:18 pm

    I would like to try the coconut oil especially for hair, because it’ll help my hair to grow 🙂

     
  37. Mariana

    April 20, 2012 at 9:12 am

    GREAT PRODUCT,I LOVE IT! THANK YOU.

     
  38. Martin R

    April 21, 2012 at 4:59 pm

    Love it!

     
  39. Mariana

    April 22, 2012 at 8:43 am

    WONDERFUL PRODUCT,THANK YOU!Have a great day!

     
  40. Jasmine Bourret

    April 23, 2012 at 8:44 am

    Would love to try the organic teeth cleaner – this product sounds so interesting. Especially since my husband is allergic to an ingredient in most toothpastes

     
  41. xoeskie

    April 24, 2012 at 5:50 pm

    i cant wait to try it

     
  42. Mariana

    April 25, 2012 at 9:33 am

    Thank you-wonderful product!

     
  43. thoyt89

    April 28, 2012 at 10:11 pm

    I would like to try the Organic Virgin Coconut Oil Lip Moisturizer.

    tiffany.hoyt@hotmail.com

     

Leave a Reply

 
