RSS

Cruise Day Countdown – Less Carbs = No cravings!

29 Mar

We only have one week to go until we leave, actually it’s 8 days but who’s counting?  I am determined to get as many workouts in as I can this week and the half of next that we’ll be here.  So far I’ve done three days in a row, and plan to attend class again tonight.  The workouts are getting so much easier as I go.  That’s not to say that they’re actually easy, just easier in comparison to that first week.  That first week I felt like I would never be able to get through an entire class, not to mention barely being able to walk the next day.  Now I can pretty much get through the entire thing with very few modifications.  I love the idea that both Chelsea and I are getting stronger and it shows.

I won’t be weighed again until Saturday, as I refuse to watch that scale every day but I have no doubt that I will have lost at least another pound or two.  That doesn’t sound like much until you think of a pound of butter, and then it’s kind of gross.  On top of the amount I’m losing I have to remember that I’m also gaining a ton of muscle, which weighs more than fat.  I did however take my measurements again and was able to say good-bye to another inch around my waist!  That’s more than three inches total in as many weeks.  I’m wearing clothes I haven’t worn in years and it feels fantastic.

Original Current (After 3 weeks)
Body Fat – ??? 42% Last Saturday Body Fat – 40%!!!!
Weight – ???  – 175 Last Saturday Weight – 171.8!!!
Waist – 41” Waist – 38”

*That’s another three pounds this week, and a gigantic 2% of my body fat GONE!  I am thrilled!

Other than the workouts one of the most helpful things our trainer explained to us this week is the process of carbs, insulin, and how they relate to cravings.  People generally eat three meals a day, and during those meals they tend to eat a fair amount of carbs.  Carbs are responsible for increasing the amount of insulin your body produces giving you highs, and pretty big lows throughout the day.  Those lows are what are responsible for your cravings.  During the first couple of weeks I was working out I wasn’t watching my diet as carefully as I should have been.  I thought I was doing well by staying away from takeout and high fat items, but by the end of the day my cravings were so bad I generally caved in.  After the process was explained to me, I got motivated to cut back on carbs and I honestly can’t believe how much of a difference it’s made.  I fill up during the day with veggies, protein, and fruit, and by night time I have absolutely no interest in gorging, usually I’m not even very hungry at all so my night time meals are miniscule.  In comparison to those first couple of weeks, it really has made the world of difference.  Give it a try for a day or two and you will see what I mean!!!

The nerves are really ratcheting up now that we are so close to leaving.  I feel like we’ve been waiting forever, but now that it’s almost time, I feel like I have a million things to do and no time to do them in.  Figures!  How do you get ready for a vacation?  Lists, organize to death, or fly by the seat of your pants?  I’m also still looking for cruising tips for all you more experienced travellers!

Oasis of the Seas, this is the boat we'll be on in one week!

 
10 Comments

Posted by on March 29, 2012 in Health and Beauty

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Cruise Day Countdown – Less Carbs = No cravings!

  1. multitestingmommy

    March 30, 2012 at 9:13 am

    I’d love to know your typical food intake for a day – I need some good ideas protein wise!!!
    You are doing so well!

    Visiting from SASS
    http://www.multitestingmommy.com/2012/03/tips-for-how-to-baby-proof-your-new.html

     
    • Adventures in Miscellany

      March 30, 2012 at 6:34 pm

      What a great idea! I’ll be sure to include a couple of days worth of food in my next post 🙂 You’re doing really well too, we’ll keep each other motivated. I’m praying I don’t slide too much on our trip!

       
  2. Nicole | Domesticated Momma

    March 30, 2012 at 7:29 pm

    Sounds like you’re doing fabulous!

    It’s amazing how easy it is to nix though silly ol’ cravings in the butt by just changing a few eating habits (for the better).

    I hope you have a fabulous trip!

    SASS

     
  3. Little Miss Kate

    March 31, 2012 at 12:02 pm

    Ohh vacations are great motivators! I hope you have a great time while you are away, and hope this last week of prep is not too hectic so you can stay on track with eating/exercise
    -SASS
    http://www.littlemisskate.ca/2012/03/food-for-friday-asparagus-with-lemon.html

     
    • Adventures in Miscellany

      March 31, 2012 at 12:38 pm

      Thanks Kate! Looks like the days before we go away are going to be jam packed between work and appointments. It’s a good thing we will be able to rest while we’re away, we’re going to need it!

       
  4. Kitty C

    March 31, 2012 at 7:36 pm

    You are doing great Natoma. I’m trying to lose too. Only I’m going the Slim (Slow) route : )

     
    • Adventures in Miscellany

      April 1, 2012 at 4:46 am

      Slow and steady wins the race Kitty! 🙂 I already know that my problem won’t be meeting my goal, but staying there…

       
  5. AlexConde (@AlexConde)

    March 31, 2012 at 10:11 pm

    Congratulations on such a great job!

    You’ve kicked ass on getting healthy, and it’s just in time for a spectacular vacation. I hope you have a fantastic cruise!

    SASS

    (http://www.searchingforhappy.com/2012/03/31/happiness-experiment-19-increasing-happiness-through-planning-day-6/)

     
  6. Jayda

    April 4, 2012 at 7:41 pm

    Congrats on your losses! Wow a cruise, I have never been on one before but have heard great things it is definitely on my list of TO DO!

    Ive cut back on my carbs too and munchies at night have cut too…its funny how that works you wouldnt think..

    -SASS

     

Leave a Reply

 
