RSS

Fever Series – Book 6, Iced Thoughts

18 Mar

“Iced” is to be released October 30th 2012.

This is from Karen Marie Moning on the new books:

“I’m currently working on a trilogy that features Dani, Christian MacKeltar, Ryodan, and the mysterious ‘Dancer,’ set primarily in Fever-Dublin. Each installment in the trilogy is a stand-alone mystery, however there are larger plot arcs unfolding in the background…

..For those of you who have been worrying—the trilogy is not YA. If I had to categorize it, I would say it straddles the line between YA and adult uneasily. …Many of the questions I left unanswered in the FEVER series are addressed in this new series.

Exciting news: I’ve agreed to write two more books after that. Once the new trilogy is complete, I’m returning to the core story begun in the FEVER series, and will resume writing about Mac, Barrons, V’lane, Cruce, the Unseelie king, the concubine, the Song of Making. All in all, there are five more books coming about the Fever World!” Karen Marie Moning(less)

DarkFever

BloodFever

I am a huge fan of the Fever series, in fact, it’s my all time favourite series. Mac & Barrons are just so unique, and alive as characters, and the plot is so rich you feel like you’re in Ireland with them. Not to mention all the hotties that Karen Marie Moning adds to her stories. As it stands Fever is a five book series starting with Darkfever, then Bloodfever, Faefever, Dreamfever, and Shadowfever. Recently though KMM announced she would be adding another five books to the story. It is so wildly popular that no one could blame her, and the thought of more Mac & Barrons thrilled me. A little after that though we found out that the first three books of the five planned would feature Dani. That took a good bit of the excitement away. I loved Dani as a secondary character, but I’m not sure I could stand her in the lead role. Not only is she not my favourite, but she is also only 14 years old in the Fever world.

FaeFever

While there are many reasons the Fever series is so popular, in my opinion, one of the main one’s is the romance. There is some seriously steamy stuff in her books that are definitely adult content. So if we’re missing such a large portion of what made the first five books so good, how will the next five measure up? It’s funny how we can take a fictional work so personally, but I’m nervous. KMM has been posting teasers to “Iced,” the first of the five books, and while I still adore the style of her writing, the idea that this is about such a young girl has kind of skeeved me out. I remember reading a while back that there would be very little time pass from Shadowfever to Iced, so the hope that Dani will be a little older is a small one. I have asked for clarification on her FB page, we’ll see what she says.

DreamFever

This brings me to the teasers that have been posted so far by KMM. While they aren’t blatantly sexual, there is a definite undertone. What I get from the teasers is that there are at least two, more likely 3 fully adult males panting after this young girl. If I’m seeing what I think I am there is Ryodan, Christian, and Cruce, not to mention Dancer who is mentioned in the blurb.

Read them for yourselves here:

Teaser #1 – Caution, this one contains a pretty huge spoiler from Fever.
Teaser #2
Teaser #3

What do you think? Am I worrying for nothing? Should I trust that such a great author will make it work?

ShadowFever

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Fever Series – Book 6, Iced Thoughts

  1. iulialesleybooks

    March 18, 2012 at 8:08 am

    Sounds really good. As soon as I get back home I’ll order the five books. Really need to start reading this series. 😀

     
  2. Judy Ham

    March 18, 2012 at 12:10 pm

    I’m a bit wary as well. That last teaser was way more blatant. I think it’s Ryodan and he’s been pretty open about wanting her regardless of her age.

    I’m really not sure how Christian would play out as a suitor but am completely looking forward to his story. I can see how Cruce can charm her but we all know how sincere that can be. I still have no clue who Dancer is and if he’s someone Dani made up. I’m hoping these books will be more straight up UF w/out a romantic lead and leave us w/ a fuller understanding of the world(s) after the walls came down.

     
    • Adventures in Miscellany

      March 18, 2012 at 1:21 pm

      I think we get a whole sentence from Dancer in Shadowfever, other than that we know zip. I get the impression that Teaser #2 is Christian, and the whole Unseelie thing hasn’t gone very well 😉

      I agree, I’m very much looking forward to reading more about Christian, Ryodan, and the Fever world. Hopefully that’s all we get.

       
  3. truckerofbc

    March 18, 2012 at 9:17 pm

    Nice blog. Very colorful and informative. Love the pics 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
