RSS

For a Few Demon’s More – The Hollows #5

11 Mar

 

Book #5 in The Hollows series.

Geeze, even though I knew it was coming, the ending of this book had me in tears.  Kim Harrison is an evil, evil author.  😉  I can’t say much more without giving it away entirely, although I was glad I knew it was coming, otherwise, I think it would have hit me even harder.

There’s a serial killer on the lose killing Were’s, and Rachel, as usual, is fighting her way through a crowd of big bad’s.  Same old, same old, in the world of The Hollows.  What’s not same old, is that Piscary is released from prison, and Rachel has her hands full trying to figure out what to do with the focus to keep herself alive.  The choices she has to make between good and bad are getting more and more blurred as she works to keep herself and her friends safe.

We get lots of Trent in this book, but he’s back to being the big bad ugly.  In spades.  I honestly thought that no matter what he’d done, his end goal was good enough to overlook the past as Rachel had been doing.  Not so much in this chapter, and that was disappointing.  Trent’s actions in this book were above and beyond any excuses for him, and Rachel also has to admit that she’d been going soft in her thoughts on Trent.  Not anymore.

I think my favourite part in the book was when Trent and Ceri are introduced.  I am going to paste that scene here, fair warning.

 

***Spoiler***

I’ve taken out some of the descriptive to shorten it, but basically Trent has shown up at Rachel’s door to meet Ceri.  He’s in his best threads, and brings her a gift wanting to make a good impression.  Ha!

“You’ll what?” Trent said, standing sideways by the piano with an infuriating smile on him. “Turn us into    butterflies? You don’t do black magic.”

“She doesn’t,” came Ceri’s voice from behind me in the hall, and Trent’s gaze shot over my shoulder. “But I do.”

“Damn it,” Trent swore softly, his eyes on Ceri as Quen halted

“Uh, Ceri,” I said, not knowing what else to do, “that man in the suit is Trenton Aloysius Kalamack, drug lord, murderer, and Fortune 20 member. That’s Quen before him, his security officer. Trent, Quen, this is Cerdiwen Merriam Dulciate, originally from the Dark Ages of Europe.” Let’s get this party started!

Trent’s face was white. “How long were you listening…?”

Ceri’s narrow chin lifted. “Long enough.”

From here it just gets better.  Ceri rocks!  😉

***End Spoiler***

 

We get a lot more of Kisten in this book too.  Kisten, Kisten, Kisten….  <sigh>  I think I have a crush on a fictional character.  It’s probably not my first, but it’s the first in a while.  I absolutely adore Kisten.  He’s sexy, submissive, and just down right hot.  His scenes with Rachel were fantastic.  He goes a long way in balancing her out, and he isn’t afraid to show her his vulnerabilities, which makes him even hotter.  He’s always there to help her sort through her own head, and offer a shoulder to cry on, what more could a woman ask for?  I can’t say anymore without bursting into tears.  Damn.

Did I mention that Trent’s wedding happens in this book?  And you’ll never guess who’s invited to be a bridesmaid.  😉  Rachel takes on her new roll with her usual flare, hilarity and ass kicking ensue.  I’m not clear on whether or not the wedding was actually completed, I guess I’ll have to wait until the next book to find out.

I really enjoyed this fifth book in the series.  The last one was good, but this one was better.  On to #6, The Outlaw Demon Wails.  Me thinks Al will be playing a huge role in that one!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 11, 2012 in Book Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “For a Few Demon’s More – The Hollows #5

  1. Judy

    March 13, 2012 at 12:20 pm

    Not gonna lie, I didn’t read this post, only so I wouldn’t be spoiled. I just started reading this series this week. It was a slow start but I’m totally enjoying it since she got caught as a mink, and I hear that the first book is pretty weak so I’m looking forward to the rest!

     
  2. Judy Ham

    March 14, 2012 at 5:07 pm

    Dead Witch Walking (The Hollows, Book 1)
    The Good, the Bad, and the Undead (The Hollows, Book 2)
    “Undead in The Garden of Good and Evil” as found in the Dates From Hell Anthology
    Every Which Way But Dead (The Hollows, Book 3)
    A Fistful of Charms (The Hollows, Book 4)
    “Dirty Magic” as found in the Hotter Than Hell Anthology
    For a Few Demons More (The Hollows, Book 5)
    “The Bridges of Eden Park” (a short story) as found in the book For a Few Demons More
    “Two Ghosts for Sister Rachel” as found in the Holidays Are Hell Anthology
    The Outlaw Demon Wails (The Hollows, Book 6)
    “The Bespelled” (a short story also found in The Outlaw Demon Wails)
    White Witch, Black Curse (The Hollows, Book 7)
    “Ley Line Drifter” as found in the Unbound Anthology
    Black Magic Sanction (Hollows)
    Pale Demon (The Hollows, Book 9)
    The Hollows Insider: New fiction, facts, maps, murders, and more in the world of Rachel Morgan
    A Perfect Blood (The Hollows)

    This is the reading order I found – check out the short stories!

     

Leave a Reply

 
