RSS

Exciting Book News!

08 Mar

In the last couple of days I’ve come across tons of interesting news regarding my favorite books that I thought I’d share.

First, I was going through some tweets and saw Jim Butchers name.  If you have read my ‘about’ page you know that I LOVE Jim Butcher and his Dresden Files series.  If you haven’t read it yet, you are seriously missing out.  It is one of the most entertaining, well written, action packed, and just plain sincere series I have ever read.  So, naturally, when I see Jim Butcher’s name I pay attention.

I clicked the link and was brought to this wonderful article/interview promoting a new book called ‘Fated’ by Benedict Jacka.  It is being compared to The Dresden files which is seriously high praise, but what was more interesting is that the two authors are interviewing each other.

Jim Butcher & Benedict Jacka article

Also, if you’ve been following along, you know I’m currently reading The Hollows series.  Once again, I was on twitter, and all of a sudden dozens were tweeting about a live chat with Kim Harrison, and Patricia Briggs.  I love the Mercy Thompson series, and I’m in the process of falling in love with The Hollows so I figured I’d check it out.

What a blast!  These ladies were so much fun to watch.  Caution though, there were a LOT of spoilers, but even though I was spoiled to death, I thought it was well worth it.  Did you know The Hollows is on it’s way to the small screen?  I didn’t.  It’s being written by the same writer as Smallville, and if it makes it, it will be aired on the CW.

They each read excerpts from their new books, The Perfect Blood, and Fair Game, then did a Q & A.  I’m glad I tuned in.  If you’re interested in seeing it, it’s been archived here.

Lastly, but certinaly not leastly 😉  The most exciting news I came across was the cover release of Ilona Andrews latest in the Kate Daniels world, Gunmetal Magic.  I felt like a squeling teenager when I saw it, it’s absolutely fantastic and almost exactly what I pictured Andrea to look like.

To top if all off Gordon Andrews has written a new Curran POV!  See the Hot Tub scene from Curran’s POV here.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 8, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Exciting Book News!

  1. Mary Bearden

    March 10, 2012 at 7:31 am

    I love reading but doing reviews/giveaways it gets harder and harder to make time for it. But I do for a few favorites like J.D. Robb!

     
    • Adventures in Miscellany

      March 12, 2012 at 8:29 am

      JD Robb is a popular one, but I can’t say I’ve read anything of his yet. What genre is he? Murder mystery?

       
  2. Diane K

    March 12, 2012 at 12:06 am

    Thanks for the information!

     
  3. iulialesleybooks

    March 12, 2012 at 8:12 am

    Woohoo, talk about good news! I love the Mercy Thompson and Kate Daniels series! Love the cover for “Gunmetal Magic” and the new Curran POV is simply hilarious!
    As for the release of “Fair Game”, I couldn’t be happier. I love the spin-off series with Charles just as much, if not more than the original Mercy books.
    A week ago, I bought one of the books from the Hollows series, but didn’t know which one it was, so I just bought it and it turned out it was the 9th book – bummer!
    Well, I guess I’ll just have to buy the first eight books as well. Can’t leave that one on its own, no sir!

     
    • Adventures in Miscellany

      March 12, 2012 at 8:33 am

      Kate Daniels is my 2nd favourite series, Fever being my first. Have you gotten to that one yet? I highly recommend it, best UF I’ve ever read, it starts out a little slow, but it’s well worth sticking with it. The Dresden Files comes in at almost a tie for second place 😉

      I haven’t read the Alpha & Omega series yet, but I won a giveaway through Patricia Briggs twitter that includes all four of the Cry Wolf graphic novels. I’ve never tried a graphic novel so I’m excited to get them! I got a Mercy’s Garage T too, can’t wait to wear it 😀

      I’m really liking The Hollows, it’s a little bit inconsistent, but I was expecting that, and when it is good, it’s really good. I’ve been reviewing them as I go so you can check those out to see if you might like ’em.

       
      • iulialesleybooks

        March 12, 2012 at 8:47 am

        The Kate Daniels series is really good! It’s in my top three! You mean the Fever series by Karen Marie Moning? It’s on my wish list for now, but I’ve been thinking of buying the first book to see how it is.
        You’ll love the Alpha & Omega series. Charles is really cool and the story doesn’t drag. They get together right in the first book and it goes on from there, so there’s no time wasting like in the Mercy Thompson series.
        Really? I saw the T-shirts in an online store and they looked really cool! Been meaning to buy one myself.
        Never tried graphic novels either, but they could be good, don’t know. The books were awesome though!
        I’ll go back and read your review for The Hollows, the plot sounds good anyways.

         
    • Adventures in Miscellany

      March 12, 2012 at 8:55 am

      That’s the one! You need to stop whatever you’re doing, right now, lock yourself away for a few days and read the Fever series. It blows almost everything else I’ve ever read out of the water. It is so popular that Karen Marie Moning had a contest on her Facebook page, and had over 1,000 entries within fifteen minutes. Within 24 hours there were more than 5,000 entries!

       
      • iulialesleybooks

        March 12, 2012 at 9:00 am

        Pfwoah that’s a lot of entries for fifteen minutes! I guess I know which series I’ll be reading next then, huh! 😀

         

Leave a Reply

 
