RSS

Cruise Day Countdown – Health & Travel

07 Mar

 

So, I’m so late in getting my ‘Friday’ post up that I’m not going to bother.  It seems getting a teenager to stand still long enough for measurements is harder than you might think.  I did do my own measurements though, and I’m, quite frankly, too embarrassed to post them.  What I can say though is that the last week has been incredibly eye opening for me, I’ve picked up some really bad habits that have had a very detrimental effect on my body.

Up until the last couple of years, I was the girl who could eat anything she wanted and never put on an ounce.  I remember being in the bathroom of a club once at the tender age of 19 and a woman asked me if I was anorexic, I was horrified at the time, but assured her that I ate quite well.  Even after having my kids, my metabolism continued to stay really high.  Now that I’m in my late thirties though, it is failing me.  This is probably not a bad thing, as now I can truly see what my eating habits are doing to my body.  Unfortunately, Chelsea seems to have picked up her metabolism from her dad’s side, and is already struggling at the age of 18.

Thanks to Multi Testing Mommy, who posted a link to the Heart & Stroke Healthy Weight ap.  I decided to give it a try, as it’s a great way to get an idea of how you’re doing, and keep track of your progress as you go.  What I found out as I entered my information is that I fall into the ‘overweight’ category.  That was devastating to me, I’ve never been overweight in my life!  Not only am I ‘overweight’ but according to the Heart & Stroke foundation my waist measurement puts me into the category of increased risk of Heart disease and stroke.  According to them, where you carry your weight is a good indicator of those increased risks.

So all of this has motivated me more than ever to eat healthier and get in shape.  Chelsea and I started our exercise program yesterday, and let me tell you, there is no better indicator of how you’re doing than a sadistic trainer shouting in your ear.  It was a 45 minute session from hell, and both of us had a really hard time keeping up.  We did manage though to do a modified version of about 90% of the program, by the end we were both feeling pretty good about ourselves.  Most of the others that were there had been going for a long time, and informed us that it was a very hard class to have started out with.  I really hope they weren’t just trying to make us feel better as we go back tonight, yikes!

With only four weeks to go before our cruise, Chelsea and I both have reasonable expectations for what we can accomplish between now and then.  Our trip was just the motivating factor to get us moving, and I fully intend to continue long passed.  The good news is no matter how little you do, you’re making a difference in your health.  Check out this article on exercise and your DNA, it’s motivating!

Picture I took from my seat on our last trip to Toronto.

I also learned a lot about buying airline tickets this week.  Have I mentioned that this is the first real vacation either of us has ever been on?  The passports that we’ve just gotten are the first for both of us.  Now before I booked our cruise I spoke with several different people to ask if April would be a good month for cheap plane tickets and was told by all that, yes, it was.  Well, I was finally able to go and purchase my tickets after scrimping and saving and was very excited.  I went into our local travel agent office all set to get what we needed.  I told her that we were somewhat flexible on when we could leave and come back, within a couple of days as a hotel room in Florida for a night would be cheaper than full price tickets.  Turns out that it’s a good thing we were flexible.  As she was looking through the computer, her eye’s began to bulge and she very meekly asked if I realized that we were leaving on Easter long weekend?  My stomach began to drop at that point.  I had no idea.

As a result of it being Easter long weekend, even 5 weeks in advance there were almost no tickets left, much less any at seat sale price.  We got very lucky finding two tickets to get us there, unfortunately the only one’s left have us laying over in Ottawa for *9* hours.  So what should be a five hour flight is going to take us more than 14.  To top it off, neither of us are very happy about flying, and now we have to take two flights just to get there, and who knows how many coming back, I haven’t even bought those tickets yet.

So, the moral of the story is, check your calendar before you book, and buy those tickets as far in advance as you can manage.

Nassau Bahamas cruise port - Only four more weeks until we're headed right for this spot!!!

 

 
9 Comments

Posted by on March 7, 2012 in Health and Beauty

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “Cruise Day Countdown – Health & Travel

  1. Multi-Testing Mommy

    March 10, 2012 at 7:54 am

    What a great post!

    You can do this and I am so glad to hear that you started this adventure with me 🙂

    Also, you are lucky to have a partner while doing this, it will make it so much easier!!!

    Thanks for participating in SASS!
    http://www.multitestingmommy.com/2012/03/lets-show-some-sass-saturday-alexa-stop.html

     
  2. mamawee (ashley picco)

    March 10, 2012 at 2:00 pm

    good luck with your goals – and have a wonderful time on your cruise!

    SASS

     
  3. Kelly

    March 10, 2012 at 5:44 pm

    I was very similar to you growing up. I even got teased I was so skinny. But then I got older and well you know the story! It’s tough as I never really learned portion control etc.

    Have so much fun on your cruise and keep up the good work! SASS

     
  4. Nicole | Domesticated Momma

    March 10, 2012 at 7:08 pm

    Well written post.

    Good luck on your journey! You can do this, and you will rock it! Remember that.

    I hope you have a wonderful time on your cruise! SASS

     
  5. Alex Conde

    March 10, 2012 at 7:19 pm

    Good luck with your continuing goals and have an excellent time on your cruise!

    I feel your pain about a slowing metabolism. I had more active jobs when I was younger too, and now that I’m at a desk all day, bad eating habits show up VERY quickly. I think I’ll be taking a look at that Heart and Stroke Foundation page too!

     
  6. Little Miss Kate

    March 11, 2012 at 2:10 pm

    Stay focus on your goals and use your vacation as even more motivation!

    Thanks for participating in SASS, hope to see you back next week.

     
  7. Ces

    March 12, 2012 at 1:26 pm

    im excited for you. I will go on vacation next month and I can’t wait.I wish I also have the motivation to start eating healthy and to exercise.

    thanks for visiting my blog, visiting you back from SASS

     
  8. Trisha G.

    March 14, 2012 at 3:23 pm

    Have a blast on your trip! Hope you find tickets back!
    SASS

     
  9. Deanna T. (@MapleLeafMommy)

    March 17, 2012 at 12:25 pm

    That article on exercise and DNA is really neat. Thanks for the link! -SASS

     

Leave a Reply

 
