RSS

A Fistfull of Charms – The Hollows #4

06 Mar

I’m beginning to realize that this series, overall, is more character based than most.  I like it.  This book out of the one’s I’ve read so far though was not my favourite.  That’s not to say I didn’t enjoy it, I did but I missed Trent, and I missed Kisten, he was there, but in the background.

Remember when I said “Now that Rachel has found some happiness with Kisten, I’m sure Nick will be back to raise the angst level”?  Well, sure enough, book four is all about the return of Nick.  Damn.  I had hoped I was wrong and we were rid of him for good.  Even though I don’t like Nick much, I did think KH was a little harsh with his character.  Without going into too many details, I think a lot of what Nick did in this book wasn’t keeping with what we know of him, and a lot of the end of the book and Nick’s actions were just too much to believe.  Don’t even get me started on the ending and Jax, again, from what we know of the characters, it’s jut not believable.

Following along on the ‘unbeleivable’ track, the whole thing with Ivy was also way off base.  Rachel has spent more than a year secure in her beliefs that she would never share blood with Ivy, and all of a sudden it’s not only fine, but she wants to do it again after what happened?!  I will admit that if it was going to happen at any point, KH planned it out well, choosing a moment when Rachel is at her most emotionally vulnerable, but still.

We didn’t get much Kisten, but what we did get was, out of everyone, the most consistent.  His actions stayed true to what we know of him as a character, and after everything else I very much appreciated it.  I love how he lets Rachel do what she needs to do without hassling her, but he’s there when she needs him. I love that he laid it out for Ivy, and unknowingly for Rachel, at the end.  He reminds Ivy that he doesn’t need her permission to be with Rachel, and that he will not back down if Rachel wants it.  Anyhoo…

Jenks gets BIG to save his son Jax.  It is, as you’ve probably guessed, absolutely hilarious.  He’s not only big, but young, and gorgeous, and Rachel has to repeatedly remind herself that he is a married man with 54 children.  I could read Jenks, all day long, the series wouldn’t be what it is without him!  I didn’t like the fact though that the fact that Jenks is almost at the end of his life span keeps being brought up, foreshadowing?  Geeze, I hope not.  It is super sweet though that he wants to train his son to be sure that Rachel will not be left without back up.  I don’t think I could handle it if Jenks gets killed off!

“Tagged by a whiny little vamp,” he said, gesturing. “Rache, take this sword and stick it in me. Just go and stick it in me. I’m a back-drafted, crumpled-winged, dust-caked, dew-assed excuse of a backup. Worthless as a pixy condom. Taken down by my own partner. Just tape my ass shut and let me fart out my mouth.”
Jenks – A Fistfull of Charms

Nick comes back into Rachel’s life in a round about way.  Rachel must run to his rescue in order to save Jenks’ son Jax, and from what she later finds out, due to Nick’s unwise choices, herself.  She finds out some very disturbing information regarding not only what Nick has done recently, but when they were together.  This knowledge brings Rachel to some startling revelations about her relationship with Nick, and her own motivations in life.

What Nick has done has some very far reaching, and devastating consequences, but it seems as though, no matter those consequences, he’s all about himself.  He betrays Rachel repeatedly throughout the book.  And while Rachel gets the last laugh, I was disappointed to see them have to end things the way they did.  Unfortunately, that is not the only emotional upheaval that she has to deal with.  With the way things ended up, I still don’t think we’ve seen the last of Nick.

This fourth book in The Hollows series is packed with action, most especially near the end.  There is one scene where I felt like I was in the movie theatre sitting through an action sequence and getting all uptight with the suspense.  It was very well written.  Overall, while it still wasn’t my favourite, it was a fun read.  As with the last books I’ll be diving into the next one right away.

NOTE:  The graphics I used in the post were found on goodreads.  If you know where they originated, I would love to give proper credit, they are fabulous!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 6, 2012 in Book Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
