RSS

Cruise Day Countdown!

29 Feb

About a year ago at this time, my friends and I were madly voting away in a contest to win a cruise vacation.  I didn’t think I stood a chance in heck of actually winning, but as it turned out, by the end I was the one with the most votes.  A few weeks later I received my certificate in the mail telling me I was the proud owner of a 7 day Caribbean cruise for 2, and that I had a whole year to use it.  What I didn’t count on was that the cruise itself isn’t really the biggest cost, and flights were not included in my prize, nor were any of the ‘upgrades.’  Either way, I swore to myself that I would make it happen.  So, about a month or two ago, I realized that my year was very quickly running out.  I had until April 15th, so I called and booked it for April 7th in the hopes that by some miracle we could pay for the flights.

Oasis of the Seas

April 7th is now 6 weeks away, and after scrimping, and saving our pennies, we’re all set to go!  Passports and plane tickets are in hand, and my daughter and I are now planning out everything we’ll do aboard Oasis of the Seas, and on our shore excursions in Nassau, St Martin, and St Thomas.  This is a first for both of us.  Raising a special needs child doesn’t leave a whole lot of money laying around for vacations, so I’m very grateful that I will be able to share this with Chelsea.  Ben and Dad will have their own vacation in a few months, and they’re happy with that.

I’d been so busy worrying about plane tickets, passports, time off work, and everything else that goes along with a vacation, that once it was all done I came to the startling conclusion that I was going to be visiting a tropical locale, and that I would not only be wearing summer clothing that shows off legs, and arms, but <gasp> having to wear a bathing suit.  That was when the panic really set in.  We moved to Calgary about 5 years ago, and while I enjoy summers here, they are as far from hot and humid as you can get.  Swimming is not a Calgary summer time activity, and I honestly can’t remember the last time I put on a bathing suit.  Not only that, but it’s been a long winter, spent mostly in front of the computer, causing my weight to reach an all time high.

As all of this was running around in my brain, I realized that not only am I bigger than I’ve ever been, but I really don’t feel all that great.  I’m more tired than usual, less motivated to get out and do things that I normally would jump at the chance for, and just generally feeling blah.  All of this has resulted in a drastic change to my diet, completely cutting out sugar, restricting carbs, increasing fruits & veggies, and lowering fat intake.  I’m not following any particular diet, but in the week since I’ve made the changes, I’m already starting to feel more like myself.  Chelsea and I have also signed ourselves up for an exercise program.  We only have 6 weeks, but at this point, I’m more interested in feeling better than what I will look like in my bathing suit, so we’re going to give it all we’ve got.

I’ve also come across a few other bloggers who are keeping track of their progress on a weekly ‘Fit-N-Firm Friday,’ that have really motivated me.  They’ve already started so if you’re looking for motivation, these ladies have some great idea, check ’em out!  Starting this Friday, Chelsea and I will be posting our stats, along with a count down to cruise day!

Multi Testing Mommy
Pampered Patty
Domesticated Mama
Whispered Inspirations
Kats Confessions

If you’re at all interested, Mighty Ships did a program on Oasis of the Seas that not only shows the boat, but the exact cruise we will be going on.  You can watch it here.

Have you been on a cruise?  What do we need to know?  Are there any ‘must see’s’ on the Islands we’ll be visiting?

Natoma

 
10 Comments

Posted by on February 29, 2012 in Health and Beauty

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Cruise Day Countdown!

  1. Multi-Testing Mommy

    February 29, 2012 at 11:41 am

    Thanks so much for the link up!

    That is awesome that you are joining us on our mission to be healthy!!!

    AND congrats on the cruise 🙂

    Fit ‘N Firm Friday is hosted by Whispered Inspirations, Pampered Patty and Kat’s Confessions, but I link up every week with them because I write a post every Monday about my adventure to getting healthy!

    So happy that you have also joined us with SASS and I hope that you continue to!

    Cheers!

     
    • Adventures in Miscellany

      March 1, 2012 at 7:02 am

      Thanks for the info! I’ve sent her an email to see if I can join in 🙂

      I will be joining you guys every Saturday!! Thanks for the opportunity!

       
  2. Judy

    February 29, 2012 at 12:38 pm

    I’ll be your cheerleader! Way to go! Carbs are totally what make me bloat up. My husband and I tried atkins for 3 mo’s and lost a bunch of fat and excess water, not just weight. I recently went back to eating carbs and have noticed my pants are getting tighter even though my weight has stayed the same. So it seems that bloating comes w/ carb territory. Also, I noticed a huge sugar rush and crash after eating cereals that are supposedly whole grain and full of fiber etc.. I usually pick the ones that have the lowest amount of sugar but it turns out that whole wheat is actually not that good for you and can lead to diabetes. This article explains the difference between today’s whole wheat and the ones our ancestors ate and how the difference leads to spikes in blood sugar caused by insulin reactions. It’s shocking knowledge for me since I thought it was rice that bloated me, seeing as I’m asian and eat tons of it all the time, but no – it’s freaking wheat thins, cereal, bread, pasta. Eating this stuff makes me super sleepy afterwards, which should have been a dead giveaway.

    Check out this link:
    http://www.natmedtalk.com/showthread.php?t=24227

    or google modern wheat diabetes

     
    • Adventures in Miscellany

      February 29, 2012 at 9:35 pm

      Wow, that is really eye opening, I had no idea Judy! Everything in my house is whole wheat now, and I thought I was doing a good thing for myself and my family.

      And thanks for the encouragement, it’s amazing what such small changes can do for you, and I’m anxious to see what the exercise will add to it 🙂

       
  3. Chelsea

    February 29, 2012 at 11:01 pm

    Why isn’t my name anywhere in here !!??
    I`m going toooooooo! (:

     
  4. Judy

    February 29, 2012 at 11:46 pm

    You’ve actually inspired me to get back on track since it’s so blatantly obvious that my body doesn’t like wheat. I don’t know about the laws in Canada but there are some countries that ban genetically modified (GM) foods, primarily Japan and it’s common knowledge the people in Japan have very long lives (the longest). It’s also because they eat the least amount of processed foods and ban the things they see as “unnatural”. Also, you’ll notice a really great side effect of cutting out wheat and sugars from your diet. Your skin will thank you for it and glow, literally. Less irritation or break outs and eventually softer, smoother skin. It’s my personal experience and I noticed it on my husband as well. Eating lean meats and fresh or frozen vegetables really keeps the junk out of your diet and reflects on the outside. When I went back to eating carbs, I had a series of breakouts on my face and I’m 37 years old. It was kind of a shock since I didn’t usually have breakouts but there they were. It was an obvious sign that my body was fighting some kind of inflammation but I wasn’t sure if it was hormonal or not but again, I was probably doubling up on carbs since I had missed it so much. So maybe carb shock? It’s all under control now and am back to my normal self, thank god, but I’m missing that glow I had while eating super healthy.

     
    • Adventures in Miscellany

      March 1, 2012 at 7:01 am

      I don’t think it’s banned here, in fact I’m almost positive it’s not. Our family stopped eating pre-made processed food a while back. Not because of health, at the time, but because the stuff is pricey! Seriously, you spend 3 times as much on pre prepared meals as you would on your basic meat and potatoes.

      Hey! We are the exact same ago 🙂 What I notice most with cutting out sugar and carbs was the major headache I had for at least three days. I know it was the change in diet because the same thing happened when I dieted last time. Something’s gotta be wrong if…

       
  5. Clenna

    March 4, 2012 at 12:11 pm

    I’m sooooooo……. Jealous! I want to go on a cruise but hubby is afraid of being way out in the ocean.

     
  6. krystle smith

    March 24, 2012 at 10:02 pm

    Love your blog so far, would love to see more variety and giveaways keep up the great work! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
