RSS

To Free or not to Be…

27 Feb

I was so excited, on the weekend I’d finally gotten the blog to where I wanted it.  Or, mostly, resigned myself to the fact that with a free blog, it was the best I was going to get.  To celebrate I was going to do this fabulous giveaway with one of the Vera Wang Swag Bags I won a while back.  They’re worth $350, and I certainly have enough of them to spare one.  I thought it would be a great prize for someone out there, and a way to get the word out about the new blog.  I was also looking forward to giving rafflecopter a try.

I’d been wondering why on earth anyone, these days, would run a giveaway *without* rafflecopter.  It is SO much easier to enter using the software, rather than the old fashioned way of posting comments, that takes practically forever.  I’ve gotten to the point that no matter the prize I will pretty much skip over any giveaways that don’t use it.  So, I spent most of my day getting the post all set to go, taking pictures, and setting up the rafflecopter widget.  It was fairly easy, but it was still a first so took some time to figure out what I wanted, and how to do it.  It wasn’t until *after* I was finished with all of this, that the rafflecopter site informed me that their widget could not be used on a WordPress free blog.  Oy.

I could have gone the easy route and done the giveaway using comments, and random.org, but it feels like a cop out.  I’ve had to sacrifice too much already to keep the blog free.  So, I have some choices to make.  Do I switch to blogger, or suck it up and fork over the dough?  In the grand scheme of things, it’s not a huge amount of dough, but in this economy it kind of is. The giveaway will get done, eventually, one way or another.  It’s just a matter of when and how.  In the meantime, I will leave you with a picture of the prize so you can help spread the word that it’s coming.

Vera Wang Swag Bag

All the Swag in the Bag

Are there any options for a giveaway other than comments, or rafflecopter?

Natoma

 
 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “To Free or not to Be…

  1. Tamie Braskett

    February 29, 2012 at 6:24 pm

    I am really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a nice blog like this one today..

     
  2. MJ Moore

    March 3, 2012 at 2:20 pm

    I have seen some blogs that link to their Facebook page, where they have a Rafflecopter form. Maybe this is why?

     
  3. Amy Orvin

    March 3, 2012 at 11:54 pm

    You can just give it all to me now. I’m kidding. Looks like a wonderful giveaway. When is it scheduled?

    2dogs5catscrew@att.net

     
  4. iulialesleybooks

    March 12, 2012 at 8:02 am

    Fabulous gievaway! I’m actually pretty obsessed with all things Vera Wang. I’ve been meaning to get the Princess perfume for ages, but I just never seem to be able to finish a bottle of perfume. It lasts ages with me.
    Aside from that, I’m actually shocked that Rafflecopter doesn’t work with WordPress! Ermm, hello? Are they mad? I don’t think it’s that hard to make a code that works with any blog, but hey, who am I to judge.
    By the way, will this giveaway be international or only open to US/Canada?

     
    • Adventures in Miscellany

      March 12, 2012 at 8:46 am

      The Rafflecopter thing is more of a wordpress issue. WordPress free blogs don’t allow javascript. I think that’s there way of trying to force you to pay for you blog 😉

       
      • iulialesleybooks

        March 12, 2012 at 8:59 am

        Oh, right. Haha, I guess my rant was pretty much for nothing. I still wouldn’t move from WordPress though, I’m pretty addicted to it now. It’s easy to work with. 😀

         

Leave a Reply

 
