RSS

Firelight – Darkest London #1

25 Feb

5 Stars!!!

In one word, delectable. I am in love with this book, it is the best PNR I’ve read in a very long time. No formula romance here, nuh uh!

From the very beginning I was sucked into this 19th century London. It’s a dark world who’s fog and rain soaked streets are illuminated by gas light. A place where society judges by your station, rather than your heart, and who’s women are commodities to be traded for the best deal that can be arranged. Such was life in the 1800’s, and the author does a fabulous job bringing us back there. As I read, I felt like it was me who walked the streets, jumping at shadows, and ducking to avoid being seen.

Lord Benjamin Archer has station, but that doesn’t stop all of society from staring at the masked man. Wherever he goes he leaves women swooning in fear in his wake. Miranda Ellis’ family on the other hand has been shunned from the same society. And while she also creates a ruckus wherever she goes, it is for entirely different reasons. A chance meeting in a late night alley changes everything for both of these outcasts.

The mysteries in this story are deep and all encompassing, they make you desperate to *know,* right now. This is one of those books that makes you argue with yourself constantly about, maybe, peeking at the last page of the book just to stop the pressure. But, the mysteries pale in comparison to the relationship between Archer and his Miri. While the mystery keeps you wanting to turn pages, the romance makes you want to stay right there and re-read the scene a dozen times. The scenes between them are romantic, hot, and sexy, and tragic all at the same time. It really is an incredible book.

This is book one in a new series called, Darkest London.  The good news is that you don’t have to wait a whole year for Moonglow, book 2.  There is also, already, a prequel that’s been published called, Ember that fills in the blanks from Firelight.  I was given a copy to review and will post as soon as I find five minutes to read it.  I have no doubt it’s fantastic.

Natoma

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 25, 2012 in Book Reviews

 

6 responses to “Firelight – Darkest London #1

  1. Judy

    February 28, 2012 at 10:52 pm

    I really enjoyed this book! The cover is amazing – very Nicole Kidman in Far and Away and Firestarter. Miranda is a very strong and level headed female character and one I found I really appreciated since the majority of the current collection of PNRs available all have bumbling, stubborn, and self serving heroines.

     
    • Adventures in Miscellany

      February 29, 2012 at 10:08 pm

      So very true Judy, I think this book stood out even more because there have been so many dud’s lately. Either way though, It really was one of th best in a good long while.

      I’m just getting into The Hollows now, and while the first two books were a little slow, the father I get the more I’m enjoying them. I know you’ve probably read them already, did you like them?

       
  2. Judy

    February 29, 2012 at 11:27 pm

    I actually have not read them yet but I will. I’ve read the reviews of the last 3 books that were released and each one had a ton of high remarks so I’m looking forward to diving into those. I just have too many to catch up to. My husband is asking me to read a Stephen King book he’s been reading, just so we can both read it at the same time. He doesn’t read as often in the day as I do so I could probably catch up after I finish my current read but I’m itching to get back in the UF world. My current read is more old western/steam punk and is pretty cool but it’s only one book so far so I don’t get to spend as much time w/ the characters to get hooked on them.

     
    • Adventures in Miscellany

      March 1, 2012 at 6:56 am

      I have yet to read a steampunk, I’ve heard of some good ones though. Which one are you reading?

      The Hollows is similar to Kate Daniels, not quiet as high up on my fav’s list but it’s getting there. I’m only four books in out of ten.

      Thea Harrison has a new one in her Elder Races series coming out next week, I’ve heard good things about the series so I think I will hit that one next. Steph recommended them, and I know if she rec’d it it’ll be good 🙂

       
  3. Judy

    March 1, 2012 at 10:05 am

    The book I was reading is called Alloy of Law by Brandon Sanderson. It’s a spin off series from his original Mistborn trilogy which was an epic fantasy series. I don’t know if you will like them because there’s not much of a steamy romance or romantic tension but there are a lot of twists and turns in the story and a great and logical magic system. It’s one of my favorite reads from last year. The new book, Alloy of Law, is much shorter than the original epic series because it’s much faster paced and full of action. The timeline is only a few days whereas the timeline in his epic series is a few years so the pacing is different. I really enjoyed it and am now finished with it but it wasn’t my favorite as there is a lot left unanswered. That is the main difference between the 2 series. The original didn’t leave you thinking there was anything left, which turned out to surprise you at the end. I’m pretty sure you can read the new series w/out reading the original as the magic system is described to you and there’s a description of how it all works at the end of the book, much like Mac’s journal from Fever. I’d rec Alloy to you after a few more books are released. Now I’m starting Stephen King’s 11/22/63, the book my husband asked me to read. It started off capturing my attention so I will probably stick w/ it. It’s long – 849 pages – yikes. Afterwards I’ll be starting Hollows.
    As for steampunk, check out Gail Carriger’s Parasol Protectorate. I only read the first 3 so far and have to say that the first 2 were better than the 3rd.

     
  4. Adventures in Miscellany

    March 1, 2012 at 6:15 pm

    I’ve heard really good things about the Parasol Protectorate series. I can deal with one or two that aren’t up to par if the rest of the series rocks.

    I think I’ve heard of the Mistborn series, but that may have been from you 😉 Funny enough, it was the Dresden Files that showed me I really don’t *have* to have romance provided the books are really well written. I know I will come back to the Dresden books forever, I love them that much, and there isn’t a whole heck of a lot in the way of romance. But I’m not sure fantasy is my kind of thing. I’ve been considering reading Jim Butchers fantasy series, I forget what it’s called right now but you know the one I’m talking about, the Alexera Codex, or something like that?

    Mistborn does sound like something hubby would like though!

     

Leave a Reply

 
