RSS

Dead Witch Walking – The Hollows #1 – Review.

24 Feb

3 1/2 stars.

Dead Witch Walking by Kim Harrison OK, so it wasn’t blow your mind good, but it was good enough that I will be continuing on with the series. I liked the characters, the story was decent if not a bit predictable, and it’s an interesting world that I’d like to read more about. I’ve heard from many that it gets much much better as the books go along, and I can see that. I find that’s it’s fairly rare to find a 1st book that blows your mind, so I’ve learned not to discount from the get go.

Rachel Morgan, failed I.S. runner, has quit her job and earned a price on her head for her troubles. Considering her boss had wanted her to leave, she’s a little shocked. Damned if you do, damned if you don’t, and double damned if someone sends a demon after you! Thankfully she has a few friends to help her along the way. Ivy, the ‘good’ vamp, Jenks the charming pixie who makes the book worth reading all by himself, and Nick the sometimes rat, and possibly human.

Her odds of surviving the hit are slim to none, or 200/1 according to her peers, but Rachel won’t give them the satisfaction of giving up. She decides that the way to get her old boss off her back is to find and nail the most wanted personality the I.S. has ever had.

Overall, while the book didn’t blow me away, I’m anxious to get started on the second…

Natoma

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 24, 2012 in Book Reviews

 

One response to “Dead Witch Walking – The Hollows #1 – Review.

  1. Alex Conde

    February 26, 2012 at 8:56 am

    Sounds like a promising first installment. I’ll have to check it out. Thanks for an interesting review! (SASS)

     

Leave a Reply

 
