RSS

Setting up & Feedburner

19 Feb

This is not so much a how to, as it is a how it’s going…

While blogging itself is brand new to me, I’ve been visiting others blogs for years.Having seen so many, I have a good idea of what it is I would like.  For now, I’m not looking for anything fancy, just a basic, functional set up.  That’s really easier said than done.  I’m really feeling out of my depth, but then again, who doesn’t when starting something new?

The first decision I had to make was which blog hosting site to use.  I did some reading, and from that it seems that WordPress is the better of the bunch in the long haul, but just to be sure I actually started one in both WordPress and Blogger.  Now keeping in mind that this is coming from someone who has zero experience, from what I’ve seen so far, blogger is actually the easier of the two to get going.  That’s not to say that it is the best, just the most user friendly for newbs.  With blogger I was able to immediately see how to change up the appearance of the theme I had chosen, use different fonts, colors, and layouts, all with a simple click.  While in WordPress, I still haven’t figured out how to do half that, it’s coming, but much slower.  At the same time though, I can see why others like WordPress better, as there are a lot more toys to use, once you’ve taught yourself how to actually use them.  So, I think I will plug along and continue trying to figure WordPress out.

Other than trying to figure out the layout and appearance settings, my first goal was to get Feedburner up and running.  After all, what’s the point of a blog if no one is reading it?  All of the blogs I’ve visited in the past have this nifty little ‘subscribe’ box, powered by feedburner somewhere on the page.  I was able to sign up for the feedburner service with very little problem, and even managed to get it linked in to my blogs RSS feed button.  That wasn’t exactly hard since it was entirely automated.  However, getting that much coveted little ‘subscribe’ box is still beyond my capabilities.  I found a wonderful step by step guide by Michael Martine at Remarkablogger, but even with the handy copy and paste HTML I still can not figure out how to add it to the page.  The best I could do was add a link, which serves the same purpose really, but damn it, that was not the goal.  I know I will figure it out, it’s just a matter of how much hair I will have left by the time I do.

Natoma

 
13 Comments

Posted by on February 19, 2012 in Miscellanious Blather

 

13 responses to “Setting up & Feedburner

  1. Little Miss Kate

    February 25, 2012 at 10:59 am

    I am currently on Blogger, but will likely be switching to WP this spring. Sorry I can’t be much help with the feedburner part. I have been blogging for almost a year and still don’t really understand it!

    Thanks for participating in SASS, hope to see you again next week

     
    • Adventures in Miscellany

      February 25, 2012 at 11:42 am

      Thanks Kate! At least I don’t feel so alone now 🙂 I am only half bald at this point, but I think I’ve figured out that I simply can’t add Feedburner the way I want to. From what I’ve read, WordPress is great, but to really get the full advantage you need to host the blog yourself. You would still use their software but there are many more options available for a self hosted site. Something for me to think about doing anyhow.

       
  2. Canadian Dad

    February 25, 2012 at 11:23 am

    I use Aweber and have been happy with them so far. It costs a little bit of money but I don’t mind for the service they provide. Plus you can customize your subscription box (which I haven’t made the time for yet).

    I really like your theme too, it’s one of the cooler ones I’ve seen in my short blogging career of 1 month, lol.

     
    • Adventures in Miscellany

      February 25, 2012 at 11:47 am

      Oh, that’s a new one for me, I hadn’t heard of them. Will have to check it out! Sounds like we’re in the same boat, except that you’ve got three weeks on me 😉

      I like the theme too, except that I can’t figure out how to add a graphic for the blog title rather than the text. I think that is another one of those things that I just can’t do without hosting the site myself. It seems any kind of modification to the theme is out, which is a big turn off.

       
  3. Multi-Testing Mommy

    February 25, 2012 at 12:06 pm

    I wish I could help you – but I’m wordpress illiterate 😉 I’m on blogger! Good luck!

    Thanks for participating in SASS this week! Welcome to the blog world!

    I’m following you now!

    http://www.multitestingmommy.com/2012/02/lets-get-healthy-together-week-7-with.html

     
  4. mamawee (ashley picco)

    February 25, 2012 at 1:32 pm

    I use blogger as well – I found it super easy when I was starting up. I have thought about switching over to WP, but for now will stay where I am!

    Visiting from SASS

    http://talesofmommyhood.blogspot.com/2012/02/perplexus-product-review.html

     
    • Adventures in Miscellany

      February 25, 2012 at 5:32 pm

      It is good, it’s just a matter of figuring things out. Now that I’m getting the hang of what’s, what, it’s getting easier.

       
  5. katrinabrady

    February 25, 2012 at 3:24 pm

    I’m on wordpress and have feedburner. You want to put the subscribe button in your sidebar? Just email me if you’d like and I’ll see if I can help with whatever you need.

     
  6. katrinabrady

    February 25, 2012 at 3:24 pm

    Oh and SASS lol

     
  7. positivelypamperedpatty

    February 26, 2012 at 7:19 pm

    Hi there! I am visiting from Sass. I started blogging over a year and a half ago. I knew nothing, zip, zilch, nada. I started with blogger, but knew in August of 2011 I wanted to switch things, I found my path, and moved to self hosted WordPress. I cannot believe how easy it is, it does take some getting used to but I absolutely love it. You’ll catch on, don’t be afraid to ask for help, there are so many amazing people in this social media world that have helped me. Pat yourself on the back, your doing great!

     
  8. mapleleafmommy

    March 4, 2012 at 10:09 am

    Oh good luck with that. I am totally intimidated by WP, which would be why I’m one of the few still left over on Blogger. – SASS

     
    • Adventures in Miscellany

      March 4, 2012 at 10:24 am

      It’s actually not too bad once you spend a little time with it. There are just certain things you simply can’t do with the free site. Mine you the paid site is only $100, but it’s still pretty obvious they’re holding out for their cash 😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
